top of page

Fashion for Fun

© Giang Pham

Laura, 20, Aarhus

“I often get told that I look like a child, but I enjoy dressing just so ugly that it becomes funny.”

We are watching the visitors of the VIA Design Show coming through the entrance of the dim City Hall in Aarhus. Their clothing reflect what people usually label as ‘Scandinavian style’: simple, rather dark, with some shades of grey. Then, a young lady, bizarrely all covered in pink, catches our eyes.

Laura, an aspiring dancer, makes a clear statement against, from her point of view, unoriginal black outfits. “Depending on my mood, I have certain phases: sometimes, I dress completely in pink, sometimes completely in orange.” For her, fashion is less about special designers and trends but rather about expressing herself. In a way, she wants to break with socially established norms of dressing: “Even children often laugh at me, but I just think it´s funny. In general, though, I get the response that I make people happy with my look.”

Laura´s style is a mirror of her character: creative, spontaneous and curious to try out different things. The presented outfit, for instance, mixes various pink tones and comprises brand new, vintage and self-made items.


© Giang Pham

bottom of page