top of page

Simply Striking


© Katja Scheibler

Jenny, New York City

“I like my outfits very simple, but I would always add one striking element.”

Summer in the City – In the month of July, New York City can present you with quite a fashion challenge. At over 30 degrees and high humidity, you would think to choose your outfits rather practically than fashionably. Regardless of the weather conditions, though, the world’s main fashion metropolis is full of fashionistas. One of these is Jenny, an outgoing and adventurous girl from China. Wearing a cute and flashy little zebra print dress, Jenny attracts attention right at the beginning of Brooklyn Bridge. “My style is quite casual. I like my outfits very simple, but I would always add one striking element, such as this pinkish-purplish little FURLA bag”, says Jenny about her signature look.


Last year, Jenny moved from the Anhui province, the region of Yellow Mountains, to San Francisco to continue her studies of Fashion Design at the Academy of Art. “Fashion design is a way to act out my feelings. It gives me the possibility to express myself by putting my own thoughts and creativity into my designs. I am not so much into traditional designing, for example, I always try to add something unique and interesting which would break the rules”, Jenny unveils her passion. “And in the end, the idea of people wearing my own art would just make me happy”, she elaborates.


The young woman joyfully explains that she used the long weekend around the 4th of July to come all the way up to the East Coast and visit New York for the first time. “Compared to California, New York is very different. I guess that mirrors how America as a country is full of diversity, each city has a different history and culture. The country’s diversity is actually comparable to China”, she states.


bottom of page